High School Sports

Duke, N.C. State, UNC recruits named Mr., Ms. Basketball in N.C., S.C.

Concord Robinson’s Lavar Batts Jr., who led his team to a state title in 2016, is Mr. Basketball in North Carolina. Batts will play at N.C. State next season.
Concord Robinson’s Lavar Batts Jr., who led his team to a state title in 2016, is Mr. Basketball in North Carolina. Batts will play at N.C. State next season. dlaird@charlotteobserver.com

Three players named players of the year in their state, along with a point guard headed to N.C. State, are this year’s Mr. and Ms. Basketball in North and South Carolina.

The awards recognize the top senior boys’ and girls’ high school basketball players in each state. The Observer began the Mr./Ms. Basketball awards in North Carolina in 1985. South Carolina players became eligible in 1990.

▪ Mr. Basketball in North Carolina is Concord Robinson’s Lavar Batts. Batts, a 6-foot-3 point guard, made multiple all-state teams this season and averaged 24 points, seven rebounds, five assists and two steals. He is Cabarrus County’s all-time scoring leader (2,174 points) and will play at N.C. State next season.

▪ Ms. Basketball in North Carolina is Clinton’s Mikaya Boykin. Boykin, a 5-9 guard, was N.C. Player of the Year by Gatorade, USA Today and the N.C. Associated Press. After missing two seasons with knee injuries, the future Duke Blue Devil averaged 38 points, 14 rebounds, 6.6 assists and six steals. She led Clinton to the 2A state championship.

▪ Mr. Basketball in South Carolina is Columbia Gray Collegiate Academy’s Jalek Felton. A 6-3 guard, Felton was S.C. Gatorade Player of the Year after averaging 26.3 points and 5.4 assists for 2A semifinalist. Felton, who signed with North Carolina, played in the Jordan Brand All-American game and is the nephew of former Tar Heels point guard Raymond Felton.

▪ Ms. Basketball in South Carolina is Dreher High’s Jaelynn Murray, whose mother, Michelle, played for the South Carolina Gamecocks in the 1990s and ranks third in school history in blocked shots. Jaelynn, a 6-2 forward, averaged 24 points and 11 rebounds and was the S.C. Gatorade Player of the Year. Murray, who signed with North Carolina, was also chosen state player of the year by the S.C. Basketball Coaches Association.

Past Winners


2015-16: Edrice “Bam” Adebayo, High Point Christian

2014-15: Brandon Ingram, Kinston

2013-14: Theo Pinson, High Point Christian

2012-13: Isaiah Hicks, Oxford Webb

2011-12: Rodney Purvis, Raleigh Upper Room

2010-11: Terry Whisnant, Cherryville

2009-10: Reggie Bullock, Kinston

2008-09: Mason Plumlee, Arden Christ School

2007-08: Ty Walker, Wilmington New Hanover

2006-07: Demontez Stitt, Butler

2005-06: Will Graves, Greensboro Dudley

2004-05: Kevin Swinton, Greensboro Dudley

2003-04: Anthony Morrow, Charlotte Latin

2002-03: Chris Paul, West Forsyth

2001-02: Shavlik Randolph, Raleigh Broughton

2000-01: A. Richardson ,Raleigh Leesville Rd.

1999-00: Scooter Sherrill, West Rowan

1998-99: Jason Parker, West Charlotte

1997-98: Kris Lang, Gastonia Huss

1996-97: Jenis Grindstaff, McDowell

1995-96: Vincent Whitt, Greensboro Dudley

1994-95: Antawn Jamison, Providence

1993-94: Ishua Benjamin, Concord

1992-93: Jeff Capel, Hope Mills South View

1991-92: Todd Fuller, Charlotte Christian

1990-91: Donald Williams, Garner

1989-90: Rodney Rogers, Durham Hillside

1988-89: Bryant Feggins, Winston-Salem Glenn

1987-88: Kenny Williams, Eliz. City N'eastern

1986-87: Henrik Rodl, Chapel Hill

1985-86: Robert Brickey, Fayetteville Smith

1984-85: Chucky Brown, North Brunswick


2015-16: Seventh Woods, Hammond School

2014-15: PJ Dozier, Spring Valley

2012-13: Justin McKie, Irmo

2011-12: Brice Johnson, Edisto

2010-11: Rod Drummond, Wade Hampton

2009-10: R.J. Slawson, Fort Dorchester

2008-09: Milton Jennings, Pinewood Prep

2007-08: Murphy Holloway, Dutch Fork

2006-07: Mike Holmes, Bishopville Lee Central

2005-06: Mike Jones, Lower Richland

2004-05: Devan Downey, Chester

2003-04: Ra'Sean Dickey, Marlboro Co.

2002-03: Brandon Wallace, Silver Bluff

2001-02: Raymond Felton, Latta

2000-01: Tymere Zimmerman, Marlboro Co.

1999-00: Rolando Howell, Lower Richland

1998-99: Chuck Eidson, Pinewood Prep

1997-98: Tony Kitchings, South Aiken

1996-97: James Griffin, Greenville

1995-96: Jermaine O'Neal, Eau Claire

1994-95: B.J. McKie, Irmo

1993-94: Roderick Blakney, Hartsville

1992-93: Ray Allen, Hillcrest-Dalzell

1991-92: Marvin Orange, Irmo

1990-91: Larry Davis, Denmark-Olar

1989-90: Lawrence Mitchell, Conway


2015-16: Erin Whalen, Providence Day

2014-15: Stephanie Watts, Weddington

2013-14: Jatarie White, Providence Day

2012-13: Keri Fulp, East Surry

2011-12: Tiffany Mitchell, Providence Day

2010-11: Cierra Burdick, Butler

2009-10: Shannon Smith, Gastonia Forestview

2008-09: Christal Caldwell, West Charlotte

2007-08: Candace Wood, Victory Christian

2006-07: Cetera DeGraffenreid, Smoky Mountain

2005-06: Joy Cheek, South Mecklenburg

2004-05: Rashanda McCants, Asheville

2003-04: Chante Black, East Forsyth

2002-03: Camille Little, Winston-Salem Carver

2001-02: Kerri Gardin, Morganton Freedom

2000-01: Natasha Brackett, Providence Day

1999-00: Chrystal Baptist, Charlotte Christian

1998-99: Amy Simpson, Eden Morehead

1997-98: Tina McKiver, East Duplin

1996-97: Tynesha Lewis, SW Edgecombe

1995-96: Shea Ralph, Fayetteville Sanford

1994-95: Natasha Davis, Freedom

1993-94: Tiffani Johnson, Garinger

1992-93: Konecka Drakeford, Providence Day

1991-92: Wendy Palmer, Roxboro Person

1990-91: Christy Cagle, Hayesville

1989-90: Tonya Sampson, Clinton

1988-89: Danyel Parker, Clinton

1987-88: Mitzi Yount, Bandys

1986-87: Andrea Stinson, North Mecklenburg

1985-86: Schonna Banner, West Caldwell

1984-85: Jill Goldberg, Raleigh Broughton


2015-16: Jhileiya Dunlap, Columbia Dreher

2014-15: Dejoria Howard, Orangeburg-Wilkinson

2013-14: Aja Wilson, Heathwood Hall

2012-13: Alaina Coates, Dutch Fork

2011-12: Xylina McDaniel, Spring Valley

2010-11: Aleighsa Welch, Goose Creek

2009-10: Kayla Jenerette, Traveler's Rest

2008-09: Morgan Stroman, Lower Richland

2007-08: Ruby Lee, Wright Latta

2006-07: Bailey Dewart, Spartanburg Dorman

2005-06: Wilesia Hardy, Spartanburg

2004-05: Karlana Greene, Timberland

2003-04: D'Lesha Lloyd, Lower Richland

2002-03: Ivory Latta, York

2001-02: L. Atkinson Bishopville, Lee Central

2000-01: LaQuita Neely, Laurens

1999-00: Nikki Jett, Columbia

1998-99: Chrissy Floyd, Laurens

1997-98: Shaunzinski Gortman, Keenan

1996-97: Teresa Geter, Columbia

1995-96: Cion Washington, Irmo

1994-95: Nikki Blassingame, Seneca

1993-94: Allison Feaster, Chester

1992-93: S. Calloway, Orangeburg-Wilkinson

1991-92: Saudia Roundtree, Westside

1990-91: Libby Corry, Blacksburg

1989-90: Tammy Gibson, Hartsville