High School Sports

Scotland County RB Zamir White wins national player of the year award

Scotland County High running back Zamir White has won one of the national high school football player of the year awards.

White will receive the 2017 Sam B. Nicola Award, annually presented by the Touchdown Club of Columbus (Ohio) to its national player of the year. The award previously has gone to players like Emmitt Smith, Chris Spielman and current UCLA quarterback Josh Rosen.

White has committed to Georgia. Another former winner is current Georgia QB Jacob Eason, who won in 2015.

This season, White ran 148 times for 2,085 yards and 34 touchdowns. He tore the ACL in a 63-26 second round playoff win over Fayetteville 71st and will miss the rest of the season. Scotland County will play in a N.C. Eastern Regional semifinal Friday night.

For his career, White has 7,168 yards and 119 rushing TDs. He was named one of 16 finalists for the US Army national player of the year. He was not included when the finalists were cut to six. Two Observer-area players are still alive for the award, considered the nation’s top high school football honor: Shelby linebacker Dax Hollifield and Rock Hill South Pointe QB Derion Kendrick.

White will receive the Sam B. Nicola Award during the 63rd Touchdown Club of Columbus Awards on Saturday, February 17, 2018.