High School Sports

Southwestern 4A all-conference football team announced.

Rocky River senior linebacker Jaylon Sharpe is a two-time Southwestern 4A defensive player of the year
Rocky River senior linebacker Jaylon Sharpe is a two-time Southwestern 4A defensive player of the year Special to the Observer

Indian Trail Porter Ridge running back Jaylen Coleman and Rocky RIver linebacker Jaylon Sharpe head the 2018 Southwestern 4A all-conference team.

The team was voted on by conference coaches. The Observer’s all-star team will be released later this month. The I-MECK 4A and SoMeck 7 all-conference teams have already been announced.

Coleman, a Duke recruit, led the Pirates to the N.C. 4A semifinals. He ran 211 times for 1,953 yards and 22 touchdowns.

Porter Ridge High running back Jaylen Coleman rushed for nearly 2,000 yards and is the Southwestern 4A offensive player of the year Greg Stavish Special to the Observer

Rocky River’s Jaylon Sharpe repeats as league defensive player of the year. Sharpe had 127 tackles this season.

Porter Ridge’s Jared Wheatley was special teams player of the year. Wheatley averaged 48 yards per punt with a long of 64. He kicked off 88 times and 61 went for touchbacks. He was 63-of-67 on point-after-touchdown kicks and was 8-of-9 on field goals, with a long of 52.

Garinger High’s Jeff Caldwell was named league coach of the year. In his first season, in 2017, Caldwell led the Garinger to a 42-0 win over Monroe Central Academy to end a 55-game losing streak, then the longest in the state.

Garinger High’s Jeff Caldwell is the Southwestern 4A coach of the year Observer File Photo

This season, Garinger finished 3-8, winning the most games at the school since 2010, when the Wildcats finished 7-5. That was the school’s last winning season. From 2011-16, Garinger won one game.

Coach of the YearJeff CaldwellGaringer
Offensive Player of the YearJaylen Coleman, RBPorter Ridge
Defensive Player of the YearJaylon Sharpe, LBRocky River
Special Teams Player of the YearJared Wheatley, K/PPorter Ridge

Offensive LineKorion SharpeRocky River

Grayson LewisHickory Ridge

Tre RichburgButler

Leo ArredondoButler

Anthony CarterButler

Will McDonaldPorter Ridge

Chase HaglerPorter Ridge

Cole CiminoPorter Ridge

Juwan TruesdaleMyers Park

Hayden MalcheskyMyers Park

Running BackAntonio SmithGaringer

Jamal WorthyButler

Quasean HolmesButler

Jatoine FieldsMyers Park

QuarterbackGrayson McCallPorter Ridge

Drake MayeMyers Park

Wide ReceiverJames MayeRocky River

Malcolm BaileyGaringer

Keyon LesaneButler

Elijah BowickMyers Park

Mushin MuhammadMyers Park

Shai WheelerIndependence

Tight EndChris BaileyGaringer

Sam BeemanPorter Ridge

PlacekickerMatt DennisMyers Park

Offensive SpecialistLogan CruceHickory Ridge

Defensive LineKalil AlexanderRocky River

Elijah RichardsonGaringer

Toney Black jrHickory Ridge

Traevon FreemanButler

Raevon FreemanButler

Davidson CarrollPorter Ridge

Jordan KingMyers Park

Tyson ClawsonIndependence

LinebackerLawence CampbellEast Meck

Brian GreirRocky River

Trey PurnellHickory Ridge

Brandon MasoneButler

Dylan BurdettePorter Ridge

Jake HarkleroadMyers Park

Roe ChitwoodMyers Park

Omar ZazuetaIndependence

Defensive BackZyone EasterlingRocky River

LaShawn AudryGaringer

Chris MasseyHickory Ridge

Garrett WilliamsHickory Ridge

Tyran JonesButler

Trey BlyMyers Park

Cameron Roseman-SinclairMyers Park

Zach RepakIndependence

PunterJared WheatleyPorter Ridge

Defensive SpecialistZay StatenGaringer