High School Sports

One-fourth of NC Shrine Bowl roster comes from Mecklenburg County

There were eleven Charlotte-Mecklenburg high school football players named to the N.C. Shrine Bowl roster on Sunday, a fourth of the state’s entire roster. .

The annual game pits 44 of the top public school seniors from North Carolina against their peers in South Carolina.

It will be played Dec. 21 at 1 p.m. at Wofford and televised Dec. 28 at noon on ESPNU.

The Charlotte-Mecklenburg players include: Hough center Chance Carroll; Butler offensive tackle Anthony Carter; Myers Park linebacker Roe Chitwood; Harding defensive back Maliek Faust; Olympic offensive guard Tavien Ford; Ardrey Kell receiver Cedric Gray; Charlotte Catholic offensive guard Malik McGowen; Hough quarterback Darius Ocean; Vance defensive lineman Stephen Sings; North Mecklenburg receiver Da’Qon Stewart; and Vance linebacker Stefon Thompson

Seven Observer-area N.C. players outside of Mecklenburg County made the N.C. team. They are: Elijah Burris, RB, Mountain Island Charter; Trey Byers, DB, Ashbrook; Will Cobb, LS, Weddington; Ray Grier, WR, Belmont South Point; Johnny Hassard, OG, West Rowan; Alec Mock, LB, Weddington; and Chris Morgan, LB, Maiden;

Nine Observer-area S.C. players were named to the S.C team, including:

Rontarious Aldridge, DL, Rock Hill South Pointe; Will Boggs, OL, York; Ger-Carl Caldwell, WR, Rock Hill Northwestern; Tylik Edwards, DB, Rock Hill; Khalil Ellis, TE, York; Quay Evans, DL, Chester; Demetric Hardin, WR, Lewisville; Jaylin Lane, WR, Clover; Nathan Mahaffey, RB, Fort Mill Nation Ford.