High School Sports

2016 All-Observer boys outdoor track team announced

Mallard Creek’s Cravont Charleston (center) is 2016 Charlotte Observer boys track athlete of the year
Mallard Creek’s Cravont Charleston (center) is 2016 Charlotte Observer boys track athlete of the year rlahser@charlotteobserver.com

Cravont Charleston had already proved he was one of the state’s fastest sprinters before this year’s state championships arrived in May.

But the Mallard Creek senior saved his best for last, as Charleston capped his high school career with 4A state championship in the 100-meter dash in a state record 10.38 seconds.

The state championship run was also the No. 2 time in state history, helping him earn the Charlotte Observer boys’ track runner of the year.

Charleston also led the Mavericks’ 400-meter relay team to a 4A state title, helping the quartet to the fastest time in the state all season (41.54).

Charleston, an N.C. State signee, was also the 2016 Charlotte Observer boys’ track indoor runner of the year.

▪ Marvin Ridge senior, Bailey Frederick, also had a record-breaking outdoor season to earn the Charlotte Observer’s boys’ track, field athlete of the year. Frederick, a University of North Carolina signee, set the all-time state record in the pole vault, vaulting to a 16-1 to win the 3A state title. The vault was No. 5 in state history.

Frederick is also an all-state forward on the Marvin Ridge boys’ soccer team.

▪ Providence Day coach, Ben Hovis, is the Charlotte Observer boys’ track coach of the year after leading his team to their fourth consecutive, NCISAA 3A state title.

The Chargers were 30.5 points better than the next best team (Cary Academy).

Providence Day was led by senior, Isaac Johnson, who won both the 100-meter hurdles and high jump state titles, while finished second in the state in the 300-meter hurdles.

All Charlotte Observer Boys Indoor Track Team

Charlotte Observer Boys’ Outdoor Runner of the Year: Cravont Charleston, Mallard Creek.

Charlotte Observer Boys’ Outdoor Field Athlete of the Year: Bailey Frederick, Marvin Ridge.

Charlotte Observer Boys’ Outdoor Track Coach of the Year: Ben Hovis, Providence Day.

1st Team

100-meter dash: Cravont Charleston, Mallard Creek, Sr.: N.C. State signee set an all-classification state record (10.38) to win the 4A state championship.

200-meter dash: Braxton Knotts, Monroe, Sr.: 2A state runner-up ran the state’s second best time (21.31) to win the Rocky River conference.

400-meter dash: Malcum Tatum, Providence, Sr.: Panthers’ standout ran the Observer’s best time this spring (48.33) to win the Dick Williams’ Invitational.

800-meter run: Marquise McGee, Vance, Sr.: North Carolina A&T signee finished third at N.C. 4A states with a personal-best 1:53.68.

1600-meter run: Mitchell Resor, Weddington, Sr.: University of North Carolina signee was 3A state runner-up running an Observer-area best 4:20.05.

3200-meter run: Matthew Conner, Weddington, Sr.: Charlotte 49ers’ signee an Observer-area best 9:18.41 to win the 3A state title.

110-meter hurdles: Brent Carroll, Berry, Sr./Cedric McGriff, Providence, Jr.: Carroll was the 4A West Regional runner-up (13.92), 4A state runner-up; McGriff was the 4A West Regional champion (13.89), third at states.

300-meter hurdles: Brent Carroll, Berry, Sr.: Ohio State signee was 4A West Regional champion in Observer-best 37.56, also 3rd at the 4A state meet.

4 X 100-meter relay: Mallard Creek (Thomas Gordon, William Eason, Cam Stover, Cravont Charleston): Mavericks’ quartet ran the state’s best time (41.54) to win 4A state championship.

4 X 200-meter relay: Mallard Creek (Jaquez Taylor, Cravont Charleston, Kesean Abel, Thomas Gordon): Mavericks’ relay ran the state’s second best time (1:27.22) to win MECKA 4A title; finished ninth at states.

4 X 400-meter relay: Mallard Creek (Canoy Tyree, Kesean Abel, Alaundre Willis, Chauncery Bowman): Another Maverick relay that ran the area’s best time (3:23.26) to win Dick Williams’ Invitational.

4 X 800-meter relay: Weddington (Matthew Conner, Alex Hazan, Colton Jordan, Mitchell Resor): Warriors’ quartet ran an Observer-best 7:53.81 to finish as 3A state runner-up.

High Jump: Desmond Lindsey, Forest Hills, Sr./J.T. Reid, Piedmont, Sr.: Both jumpers tied for the state’s best jump this season (6-8) at the Union County championships where Reid won the title, with Lindsey finishing as runner-up.

Long Jump: Niegel Simmons, South Pointe (SC), Sr.: Stallions’ standout won the S.C. 3A state title with state’s best jump of the outdoor season (23-10.5).

Triple Jump: Samuel Johnson, Statesville, So.: Greyhounds’ sophomore was 3A state runner-up, jumping an Observer-best 47-4 this spring.

Pole Vault: Bailey Frederick, Marvin Ridge, Sr.: University of North Carolina signee broke the all-class state record, vaulting 16-1 to win the 3A state title.

Discus: Tyson Fortenberry, Ashbrook, Sr.: Green Wave’s standout made the state’s second best throw (178-0.5) to win the Big South conference title, also won 3A state championship.

Shot Put: Daniel McArthur, Mooresville, Sr.: Blue Devil senior had the state’s second best throw (59-11) to win Iredell County championship, also finished as 4A state runner-up.

2nd Team

100-meter dash: Tyshawn Smith, Lincolnton, Sr./P.J. Lotharp, Sun Valley, Sr.

200-meter dash: Khafre Brown, West Mecklenburg, Fr./P.J. Lotharp, Sun Valley, Sr.

400-meter dash: Miles Mingo, Northwestern, Jr.

800-meter run: Canoy Tyree, Mallard Creek, Jr.

1600-meter run: Haywood Ferguson, South Mecklenburg, So.

3200-meter run: Mitchell Resor, Weddington, Sr.

110-meter hurdles: Travis Rodgers, Jay M. Robinson, Sr./Isaac Johnson, Providence Day, Sr.

300-meter hurdles: Isaac Johnson, Providence Day, Sr./Malcum Tatum, Providence, Sr.

4 X 100-meter relay: Sun Valley (Fabrice Funderburke, Daniel Thomas, Jeremiah Miller, P.J. Lotharp).

4 X 200-meter relay: Sun Valley (Fabrice Funderburke, Daniel Thomas, Jeremiah Miller, P.J. Lotharp) and Hopewell (Kolby Colson, Ryan Richardson, Tre Exume, Jawan Miller).

4 X 400-meter relay: Northwestern (Tay’Anthony Pittman, Tyler Pierre, Davier Alston, Miles Mingo, Jerkivious Hall).

4 X 800-meter relay: Lake Norman (Evan Harris, Jack Mastandrea, Zach Clark, Jeb Phillips).

High Jump: Isaac Johnson, Providence Day, Sr.

Long Jump: Ka’Trael Lytle, York, Jr.

Triple Jump: Jamin Glenn, Hickory Ridge, Jr.

Pole Vault: Liam Dixon, Mooresville, Sr.

Discus: Daniel McArthur, Mooresville, Sr.

Shot Put: Chris Wright, Myers Park, Sr.