This week’s Sprint Cup Series race: Folds of Honor QuikTrip 500

What: 325 laps (501 miles)

Where: Atlanta Motor Speedway, a 1.54-mile banked, quad-oval speedway in Hampton, Ga.

When: 1 p.m. Sunday

TV: Fox

Radio: Performance Racing Network

Last year’s winner: Kasey Kahne

Also this week: Hisense 250, Xfinity Series, Atlanta Motor Speedway, 2 p.m. Saturday, Fox Sports 1.

▪  Hyundai 200, Truck Series, Atlanta Motor Speedway, 5:30 p.m. Saturday, Fox Sports 1.

Worth mentioning: In recent years, Atlanta’s lone Cup date has been during Labor Day weekend. Its move to the second week of the season will be a big test of its viability going forward.

Who’s Hot/Who’s Not


Joey Logano: Follows up his best NASCAR season by winning the sport’s biggest race, the Daytona 500.

Kevin Harvick: The reigning champ looks like he’s picking up where he left off.

Martin Truex Jr.: Ran well all Speedweeks and came away with an eighth-place finish in the 500.

Casey Mears: No wins, but Mears is turning into quite the restrictor-plate ace.

Ryan Reed: First career win at Daytona can hardly be more special.

Tyler Reddick: Please see Ryan Reed.


Kurt Busch: Could this be the end of his NASCAR career?

Kyle Busch: Joe Gibbs Racing faces some big decisions with Busch sidelined for quite some time with a broken leg and foot.

Tony Stewart: Spent most of the Daytona 500 in the garage.

Jim Utter

Points leaders

Sprint Cup

1. Joey Logano47

2. Kevin Harvick42

3. Dale Earnhardt Jr.42

4. Denny Hamlin41

5. Jimmie Johnson40

6. Casey Mears39

7. Clint Bowyer37

8. Martin Truex Jr.37

9. Kasey Kahne35

10. Greg Biffle35

11. David Gilliland33

12. Sam Hornish Jr.32

13. Michael Annett32

14. Austin Dillon30

15. Aric Almirola29

16. David Ragan27

17. AJ Allmendinger25

18. Danica Patrick23

19. Cole Whitt22

20. Carl Edwards22

21. Bobby Labonte20

22. Paul Menard19

23. Michael Waltrip18

24. Jamie McMurray17

25. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.15

26. Trevor Bayne14

27. Michael McDowell13

28. Jeff Gordon13

29. Reed Sorenson12

30. Kyle Larson10

31. Matt Kenseth9

32. Mike Wallace8

33. Justin Allgaier7

34. Ryan Newman6

35. Brad Keselowski3

36. Tony Stewart2

Xfinity Series

1. Ryan Reed47

2. Chris Buescher43

3. Ty Dillon42

4. David Starr38

5. Ross Chastain35

6. Dakoda Armstrong33

7. Darrell Wallace Jr.33

8. Jeremy Clements30

9. Mario Gosselin29

10. Jeffrey Earnhardt28

11. Eric McClure27

12. Elliott Sadler25

13. Blake Koch24

14. Chris Cockrum23

Truck series

1. Tyler Reddick48

2. Erik Jones42

3. Austin Theriault41

4. Ray Black Jr.39

5. Bryan Silas37

6. Matt Crafton37

7. Johnny Sauter34

8. Korbin Forrister32

9. Tyler Young32

10. Norm Benning30

11. Travis Kvapil29

12. Ryan Ellis28

13. James Buescher27