Stewart-Haas Racing teams swap crews, crew chiefs

 |  8:38PM

In what it said was a move to get a head start on the 2015 season, Stewart-Haas Racing officials confirmed Wednesday the road crews and crew chiefs on their No. 10 and 41 Sprint Cup teams will swap before next weekend’s race at Texas.

With four races remaining before the 2014 NASCAR Sprint Cup champion is crowned, including Sunday’s Goody’s 500 at Martinsville Speedway, most teams that were among the best during the “regular season” are still in the Chase for the Sprint Cup title.

Dale Earnhardt Jr. knew immediately something was wrong during a 2012 crash at Talladega, where his car was hit hard from behind.

Brad Keselowski held off Matt Kenseth on a second two-lap overtime to win the GEICO 500 at Talladega and advance to Round 3 of the Chase. Dale Earnhardt Jr., Jimmie Johnson, Kyle Busch and Kasey Kahne were eliminated from title contention.

Jimmie Johnson led the most laps in Sunday’s GEICO 500 and his pit crew consistently got him off pit road each time. He had a chance to win late in the race, but it was not to be. It’s been that kind of season for the reigning Sprint Cup series champion.

More motorsports news from our wires

   NASCAR's most popular driver, Dale Earnhardt Jr., recounts his personal story of his own battl...

Lucky Dog
~NASCAR 10.19.14
~NASCAR 10.17.14