Politics & Government

Charlotte election results: Mayfield loses in at-large race, Graham wins District 2

Four-term council member LaWana Mayfield lost her re-election bid in the Charlotte City Council at-large primary race Tuesday, trailing the top four incumbents by more than 2,000 votes, according to results reported on the state Board of Elections website.

Mayfield, a Democrat, is serving as the council member from District 3 but ran at-large this year against four other Democratic incumbents and two newcomers. Results from the local primary races are unofficial until certified by Mecklenburg County election officials.

Four at-large candidates will move on to the general election. One Republican, newcomer Joshua Richardson, will be on the fall ballot.

Democratic incumbents with the most votes were Braxton Winston, James Mitchell, Julie Eiselt and Dimple Ajmera.

On Monday, Mayfield said on Twitter that voters in south Charlotte had received robocalls, urging them to not vote for her in the at-large race. Mayfield, along with Winston, Mitchell and challenger Jorge Millares, had been endorsed in the primary by the Black Political Caucus of Charlotte-Mecklenburg.

With all precincts reporting, Mayfield was in fifth place in the at-large race and Millares was sixth.

District 2 elects Graham

In City Council District 2, where there was no incumbent, Democrat Malcolm Graham posted a large lead with 61% of the vote over Antoinette (Toni) Green, Jessica Davis and Jeremy Arey. Graham, a former state senator and past City Council member, will face Republican Jacob Robinson in November.

Meanwhile, three incumbents running in contested primaries won with comfortable leads, the Board of Elections website shows.

Democrats Larken Egleston and Matt Newton and Republican Ed Driggs were all re-elected Tuesday.

Egleston had about 73% of the vote in District 1 and his challenger, Sean Smith, captured about 27%.

Newton, in District 5, won with about 60% of the vote over challengers Vinroy Washington Reid and Mark Vincent.

Driggs led Victoria Nwasike in District 7 with 68% of the vote.

There was no primary in District 6, where only one Democrat, Gina Navarrette, and one Republican, the incumbent Tariq Bokhari, filed.

In District 3, Democrat Victoria Watlington, an engineer and member of the Charlotte Civil Service Board, defeated Terry Brown, an attorney, by 217 votes, according to unofficial results late Tuesday. A third candidate, Caleb Theodros, a community organizer, also trailed behind.

It’s the first time in nearly a decade the District 3 seat has been open, with incumbent Mayfield deciding to run for re-election this year in the at-large primary. No Republican filed in District 3, where nearly six in 10 of the district’s registered voters are Democrats.

In District 4, Renee Perkins Johnson led five other Democrats, capturing more than 36% of the vote. Election rules once required district City Council winners to post 40% of the vote to avoid a primary runoff, but the threshold was lowered following the 2017 election to 30%.

Johnson will face Republican Brandon Pierce in November. Incumbent City Council member Greg Phipps, a Democrat, announced this year that he would not seek re-election after serving three terms.

Charlotte City Council members serve two-year terms.

Related stories from Charlotte Observer